Government confirms ministerial portfolios in new Department for Business and Trade

Government confirms ministerial portfolios in new Department for Business and Trade

Posted: Wed 17th May 2023

Kevin Hollinrake remains as small business minister, the government has confirmed as it announced the jobs for ministers in the new Department for Business and Trade (DBT).

On 7 February prime minister Rishi Sunak announced the splitting of the former Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) into three separate departments. DBT merges the business elements of BEIS and the former Department for International Trade.

Kemi Badenoch was announced as secretary of state for DBT but until now her ministers had not been confirmed.

The government today said that Kevin Hollinrake, who was an entrepreneur as the founder of Hunters Estate Agents before entering politics, remains as minister for markets, enterprise and small business. He was originally appointed last October.

The other ministers are:

  • Minister for international trade: Nigel Huddleston

  • Minister for industry and economic security: Nusrat Ghani (also minister for investment security in the Cabinet Office)

  • Minister for investment: Lord Johnson

  • Minister for exports: Lord Offord (also Lords minister for the Scotland Office)

  • Minister for regulatory reform: Earl of Minto

Enterprise Nation has helped thousands of people start and grow their businesses. Led by founder, Emma Jones CBE, Enterprise Nation connects you to the resources and expertise to help you succeed.

You might also like…

Get business support right to your inbox

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive business tips, learn about new funding programmes, join upcoming events, take e-learning courses, and more.